Nursery Timings

AM session – 8.30am / 8.45am to 11.15am / 11.30am

PM session – 12.15pm / 12.30pm to 3.00pm / 3.15pm


Reception Timings

Drop off – 8.35am / 8.45am

Pick up – 2.50pm / 3.00pm



At St Benedict’s School we believe that all children deserve an education rich in wonder and memorable experiences, allowing children’s creativity and curiosity to flourish.

The intent of our EYFS curriculum is to ensure our children develop the necessary skills, knowledge and attitude to achieve fulfilling lines. The EYFS is the start of our children’s school journey towards achieving this important purpose. We recognise that our children enter the nursery & reception classes with varied life experiences and we aim to plan teaching and learning opportunities to address this.


Our curriculum is built around stories and rhythms of the year, closely linked to our RE topics. We have highly experienced and motivated staff who see every moment as a learning opportunity.

We adapt our learning environment, both indoors and outdoors to ensure all children have access to a highly stimulating environment with resources to match.

The EYFS is based on four overarching principles. The principles underpin all that practitioners are required to do.

The Unique Child.

Principle: Every child is a competent learner from birth who can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured.

Positive Relationships.

Principle: Children learn to be strong and independent from a base of loving and secure relationships with parents and/or a key person.

Enabling Environments.

Principle: The environment plays a key role in supporting and extending children’s development and learning.

Learning and Development.

Principle: Children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates and all areas of learning and development are equally important and interconnected.

The Seven Areas of Learning

Early years learning concentrates on 7 areas split between prime and specific areas of learning.

The prime areas of learning are:

  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development


The specific areas of learning are:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design


30 Hours Funding

If you think that you may be entitled to 30 hours funding, please follow the link below where you can find out more information. Please do not hesitate to speak to a member of our EYFS team if you have any questions.